2018 Patron

Gail Jones lives in Sydney and teaches at the University of Western Sydney. Her books have won numerous literary awards in Australia. She is the author of two collections of short stories and five novels including Sixty Lights which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Dreams of Speaking which was shortlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and longlisted for the Orange Prize, and Sorry which was longlisted for the Orange Prize.

Gail Jones is the author of two short-story collections, a critical monograph, and the novels The Death of Noah GlassBlack Mirror, Sixty Lights, Dreams of Speaking, Sorry, Five Bells and A Guide to Berlin. Three times shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award, her prizes include the WA Premier’s Award for Fiction, the Nita B. Kibble Award, the Steele Rudd Award, the Age Book of the Year Award, the Adelaide Festival Award for Fiction and the ASAL Gold Medal. She has also been shortlisted for international awards, including the IMPAC and the Prix Femina. Her fiction has been translated into nine languages.

2018 Organising Committee

Susan  Midalia is an award-winning short story writer, novelist, editor, workshop facilitator and judge of literary competitions. She is the chair of the board of management of the ASSF, as well as a board member of writingWA and Margaret River Press.

Caroline Wood is Co-founder and Director of the Centre for Stories, Margaret River Press and Australian Short Story Festival.  She has served on the Board of Amnesty International Australia, the Augusta Margaret River Tourism Association and the Small Publishers Network.  She is currently the interim Deputy Chair of PEN Perth.

Josephine Clarke  writes short stories and poetry. She is an active member of the Fremantle-based Out of the Asylum Writers’ Group and is a member of the collective that organises Voicebox – monthly poetry readings at the Cafe at the Rose in North Fremantle. She has had poetry and short stories published in indigo, Cordite and Westerly.

Belinda Hermawan works in Digital Communications for writingWA, Western Australia’s peak body for literature. She is a former president of the Fellowship of Australian Writers WA. Her short fiction has been published or is forthcoming in Split Lip Magazine, WesterlyGoing Down Swinging and Typishly. She is also a writing group facilitator at the Centre for Stories.

Amy Hilhorst is a published poet and recently completed her Phd researching the relationship between poetic language and representations of psychosis in the work of Australian poets Francis Webb, Bruce Beaver, and Michael Dransfield.  She currently teaches in the English & Cultural Studies discipline at the University of Western Australia.

Julia Prendergast is a Lecturer at Swinburne University, Melbourne, with extensive experience in the organisation and administration of arts and cultural events. She is a published short story writer, and sits on the board of management of the ASSF, responsible for Prizes and Partnerships.

Sarah McNeill is the Arts Editor at The Post newspaper and an actor who has appeared at Effie Crump Theatre, Perth Theatre Company and Black Swan State Theatre Company.  She is the brains behind LitLive, a monthly event where professional actors read entertaining literature live on stage at the Centre for Stories.

Andrew Lynch is Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions, located at the University of Western Australia. He is widely published in his speciality area of medieval studies, as well in contemporary Australian literature, and he also has an interest in modern Irish literature and in Australian poetry.